Louisville Ky Metro Council leadership set for 2016

Fifteen Standing Committees and two Ad Hoc Committees will be in operation  

Louisville, Ky.,  – Metro Council President David Yates (D-25) has announced the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Metro Council’s Standing and Ad Hoc Committees for 2016.

Five of the Metro Council’s 15 Standing Committees will be refocused and in some cases combined to reflect changing priorities and needs for Metro Government.

Photo from the Facebook page of the council's Democratic Caucus
Photo from the Facebook page of the council’s Democratic Caucus

“I want to thank the members who have agreed to serve as Chairs and Vice Chairs of our committees,” said Yates.  “The committee system is crucial to understanding the needs of the people of Metro Louisville.  These committees will review every facet of our local government.”

 Among the changes:

·       Community Affairs will now also cover housing issues

·       Contracts and Appointments will become two separate committees

·       Sustainability will also include operation of Metro Parks

·       Annexation will be merged into Intergovernmental Affairs

“We are updating priority issues and making necessary changes to the operation of our Metro Government,” said the President.  “It is important that the Council continue to work with the Fischer Administration to ensure we are finding all who are interested in serving throughout Louisville on boards and commissions.  That is why I believe Appointments deserves its own separate committee.”

The President plans to continue the operation of the Ad-Hoc Committee on the Land Development Code and he will reinstate the Ad Hoc Committee on Vacant Property.

“Great progress has been made by the Mayor and his Administration to reduce the problem with vacant and abandoned property but that issue is still a major concern for the people we represent,” said Yates.  “I believe this Ad Hoc Committee will see where we as a Council can help on the local and state level to address this concern for many of our neighborhoods.”

President Yates will chair two committees: the Committee on Committees and the Committee of the Whole.  The President of the Metro Council is also an ex officio member of all other committees.

Chairs and Vice-Chairs for Metro Council Committees in 2016

Committee on Committees:

David Yates (D-25) Chair

Bill Hollander (D-9) Vice Chair

Appropriations NDF’s and CIF’s:

Rick Blackwell (D-12) Chair

Robin Engel (R-22) Vice Chair


Jessica Green (D-1) Chair

Kelly Downard (R-16) Vice Chair


Marianne Butler (D-15) Chair

Angela Leet (R- 7) Vice Chair

Community Affairs & Housing:

Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair

Mary Woolridge (D-3) Vice Chair


Dan Johnson (D-21) Chair

Stuart Benson (R-20) Vice Chair

Government Accountability and Ethics:

Vicki Aubrey Welch (D-13) Chair

Marilyn Parker (R-18) Vice Chair

Health & Education:

Mary C. Woolridge (D-3) Chair

Marilyn Parker (R-18) Vice Chair

Intergovernmental Affairs & Annexation:

Pat Mulvihill (D-10) Chair

Kelly Downard (R-16) Vice Chair

Labor and Economic Development:

Cheri Bryant-Hamilton (D-5) Chair

Stuart Benson (R-20) Vice Chair

Planning, Zoning, Land Design, and Development:

Madonna Flood (D-24) Chair

Glen Stuckel (R-17) Vice Chair

Public Safety:

David James (D-6) Chair

Julie Denton (R-19) Vice Chair

Public Works, Bridges & Transportation:

Tom Owen (D-8) Chair

Dan Johnson (D-21) Vice Chair

Sustainability & Parks:

Cindi Fowler (D-14) Chair

Glen Stuckel (R-17) Vice Chair

2016 Ad-Hoc Committees

Land Development Code:

James Peden (R-23) Chair

Bill Hollander (D-9) Vice Chair

Vacant Property:

Jessica Green (D-1) Chair

James Peden (R-23) Vice Chair