Louisville teacher among those honored by Kentucky Department of Education

Oldham Co. Teacher is Louisville KY State Teacher of the Year

Photos from Department of Education’s Twitter page

Louisville, Ky., – An English and creative writing teacher in the Oldham County school district, Ashley Lamb-Sinclair, is the 2016 Kentucky Teacher of the Year. Ashland Inc. and the Kentucky Department of Education made the announcement at a ceremony held at the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort.

Governor Steve Beshear; Education and Workforce Development Cabinet Secretary Thomas O. Zawacki; Commissioner of Education Stephen L. Pruitt; and Sam Mitchell, senior vice president of Ashland and president of Valvoline were on hand to make the presentation.

Joshua DeWar, a 2nd-grade teacher at Engelhard Elementary in Jefferson County, is the 2016 Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Karen Mallonee, a world language/Spanish teacher at College View Middle School in Daviess County, is the 2016 Middle School Teacher of the Year. The three joined 21 other teachers from across the state honored with 2016 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards.

Gov. Steve Beshear praised all of the achievement winners for their dedication, innovation, enthusiasm and ability. “Jane and I would personally like to thank all the teachers recognized this year at the Teacher of the Year ceremony, and we congratulate this year’s winner for setting the bar on excellence in education,” Gov. Steve Beshear said. “Our teachers are a major part of Kentucky’s current momentum. They continue to partner with us as we improve our education programs that are preparing our young people for the increasingly high-tech jobs of the 21st century, and making Kentucky more competitive as companies seek out highly skilled, capable employees. Our future looks bright as we continue to raise our education standards and rankings, and we have our teachers to thank for our ongoing success.”

“Our most important assets in education are the teachers in the classrooms. These teachers honored here today represent the best of the best in Kentucky,” said Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen L. Pruitt. “Even with tight resources and a continual push to make sure all students are ready for college and career, Kentucky’s teachers are proving high student achievement is possible.”

DeWar and Mallonee received $3,000 each and a customized, art-glass vase from Ashland Inc., while LambSinclair received $10,000 and a commemorative crystal-glass bowl. In addition, the Kentucky Department of Education will provide a sabbatical or suitable alternative for Lamb-Sinclair, who also will represent the state in the 2016 National Teacher of the Year competition. The remaining 21 winners each received $500 cash awards. All 24 teachers received framed certificates and were further recognized at a luncheon following the ceremony.

“This marks the 15th year that Ashland and the Kentucky Department of Education have joined together to recognize some of the Commonwealth’s top educators. When you think about the impact teachers have upon their students, they truly deserve to be recognized and celebrated for their efforts,” said Sam Mitchell, senior vice president of Ashland and president of Valvoline.

Education Dept logo

Ashland Inc. and the Kentucky Department of Education co-sponsor the Kentucky Teacher Achievement Awards. Applications for the program were distributed across the state, and the first tier of the selection process was completed in August, with 24 teachers selected as 2016 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Award winners. Nine top scorers – each from the elementary, middle and high school levels – were selected, and teams of educators visited their classrooms to view them at work and to conduct personal interviews. From those nine, three were selected as 2016 Kentucky Teachers of the Year. The selection of the overall Kentucky Teacher of the Year was based on the compilation of scores from all phases of the judging.

Ashland has recognized outstanding Kentucky teachers with its Teacher Achievement Awards since 1988. Approximately $727,000 has been awarded to more than 500 teachers in grades K to12.