Louisville’s WAVE Wins Best Newscast; Lauren Jones, Kent Taylor Get Big Wins

 — The Kentucky Associated Press Broadcasters announced its News Excellence Awards for 2014 Saturday night in Lexington. The winners for outstanding broadcast journalism are listed below:


Best Continuing Coverage: WHAS-AM, Staff

Best Long Enterprise Reporting: WFPL, James McNair

Best Long Light News Feature: WKYU-FM, Joe Corcoran

Best Long Newscast: WKYU-FM, Staff

Best Long Public Affairs: WFPL, Rick Howlett

Best Long Serious News Feature: WNIN-FM, Cass Herrington

Best Long Sports Feature: WFPL, Jacob Ryan

Best, Political Coverage: WKMS-FM, Chad Lampe, John Null and Whitney Jones

Best Radio Anchor: WHAS-AM, Suzanne Duvall

Best Radio Reporter: WNIN-FM, Cass Herrington

Best Short Enterprise Reporting: WKYX, Tim Brockwell

Best Short Light News Feature: WKYX, Tim Brockwell

Best Short Newscast: WHAS-AM, Staff

Best Short Public Affairs: WKYX, Bill Hughes

Best Short Serious News Feature: WKYU-FM, Lisa Autry

Best Special – Series/Documentary: WKMS-FM, Chad Lampe

Best Sports Reporting: WNIN-FM, Staff

Best Spot News: WHAS-AM, Staff

Best Use of Sound: WFPL, Devin Katayama

Best Website Radio: WHAS-AM, Staff


Best Continuing Coverage: WLEX-TV, Leigh Searcy

Best Digital Journalist: WDRB-TV, Chris Otts

Best Enterprise or Investigative Reporting: WAVE-TV, John Boel and Jeff Knight

No Surprise - John Boel of WAVE gets a first place.
No Surprise – John Boel of WAVE gets a first place.

Best Feature Videography: WKYT-TV, Barton Bill

Best Hard News Feature: WDRB-TV, Rachel Collier and Dominik Fuhrmann

Best Light News Feature: WLKY-TV, Lexy Scheen and Scott Eckhardt

Best Multimedia Reporter: WLEX-TV, Megan Moore

Best News Videography: WKYT-TV, Brandon Whitworth

Best Newscast: WAVE-TV, Jennifer Nickels, Zak Owens and Aaron Ellis

Best Political Coverage: WDRB-TV, Staff

Best Public Affairs: WLEX-TV, Katherine Shepherd, Dave Medley and Kristen Pflum

Best Special – Series/Documentary: WLKY-TV, Lauren Adams and Mike Barnett

Best Sports Feature: WKYT-TV, John Wilson and Sean Moody

Best Sports Play-By-Play: WAVE-TV, Kent Taylor

Best Sports Prep Show: WLEX-TV, Alan Cutler, Keith Farmer and Kyle Scott

Best Sports Special: WLEX-TV, Jennifer Smith and Katherine Shepherd

Best Sports Videography: WLEX-TV, Kyle Scott

Best Spots News: WLKY-TV, News Team

Best TV Editor: WLEX-TV, Dave Medley

Best TV News Anchor: WAVE-TV, Lauren Jones

   Best TV News Videographer: WLKY-TV, Scott Eckhardt

Best TV Reporter: WKYT-TV, Sean Moody

Best TV Sportscaster: WAVE-TV, Kent Taylor

Best TV Weather Anchor: WDRB-TV, Jude Redfield

Best Website: WLEX-TV, Melissa Ratliff, Mike Maharrey and Jenifer Abreu