One Step Closer to Derby: Post Position Draw Set For This Afternoon at Louisville’s Churchill Downs



 LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Through various sources, the Churchill Downs communications team has confirmed that 22 Horses are known to have been entered in Saturday’s $2 million Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands.draw

 The Horses known to be entered in the Kentucky Derby are (in order of preference by points earned on the “Road to the Kentucky Derby Presented by” (with jockeys): International Star (Miguel Mena); Dortmund (Martin Garcia); Carpe Diem (John Velazquez); American Pharoah (Victor Espinoza); Frosted (Joel Rosario); Mubtaahij-IRE (Christophe Soumillon); Materiality (Javier Castellano); El Kabeir (Calvin Borel); Upstart (Jose Ortiz); Far Right (Mike Smith); Itsaknockout (Luis Saez); Firing Line (Gary Stevens); Danzig Moon (Julien Leparoux); War Story (Joe Talamo); Tencendur (Manny Franco); Stanford (Florent Geroux); Mr. Z (Ramon Vazquez); Ocho Ocho Ocho (Elvis Trujillo); Bolo (Rafael Bejarano); and Keen Ice (Kent Desormeaux). Frammento (Corey Nakatani) and Tale of Verve (Brian Hernandez Jr.) are on the “also eligible” list.Kentucky-Derby-2015-logo

Charles Fipke’s Tale of Verve, based at Churchill Downs in Dallas Stewart’s Barn 48, was a surprise late entrant.

The “also eligible” Horses could draw into the field should any Horse(s) be scratched before scratch time on Friday at 9 a.m. ET.

Entries closed today at 10 a.m. ET. The Kentucky Derby post position draw – a traditional “pill pull” in which Horses’ entry blanks are pulled simultaneously with a numbered pill to determine what stall a Horse will break from the starting gate – will be held today at 5:30 p.m. in the Aristides Lounge on the second floor of the Grandstand. The post position draw will air live on NBCSN from 5:30-6 p.m. and will be streamed by other various outlets, including Horse Racing Radio Network.

Attendees are asked to arrive and be seated by 5:15 p.m. NBCSN’s telecast will begin at 5:30 p.m. with John Asher (Vice President, Racing Communications) serving as the emcee and Ben Huffman (Director, Racing & Racing Secretary) and Dan Bork (Assistant Racing Secretary & Stakes Coordinator) conducting the pill-pull. The first 10 post positions will be drawn from 5:33 p.m. until 5:39 p.m. After a commercial break, the final 10 post positions will be drawn from 5:42 p.m. until 5:49 p.m. Churchill Downs oddsmaker Mike Battaglia will deliver the Kentucky Derby’s morning line odds at 5:53 p.m. Connections will be available for comment in the room after the draw show concludes at 6 p.m.

An “After the Draw Party” in the Aristides Lounge will commence after at 6 p.m. and continue until 9 p.m. Media interested in attending both the draw and party are welcome and can gain entrance to the ticketed event with their Kentucky Derby Media Credential.